1LP Vinyl – MUZLP001

Ethiopia’s music company Muzikawi reissue the self-titled solo instrumental album of Ethio-jazz composer Dawit Yifru, which offers an exceptional occasion to rediscover one of the most important eras in Ethiopia’s music history.

This 11-track album features a compilation of songs that were restored and remastered from cassettes released throughout the 1970s. With Ethiopian Chickchika music, Twist, Congolese Rumba, and Waltz music styles converging, the songs reflect the dynamic musical crossroads that were present at the time. However, it is the inclusion of the violin, which was uncommon at the time, that presents Dawit Yifru as a visionary composer amongst his contemporaries.

“These elements have come together to create Ethio-jazz music at its most bold, spiritual and syncretic,” Remarks Muzikawi founder Teshome Wondimu. “With this compilation, Dawit Yifru offers a bright window into the past of Ethiopia’s music scene which is so rich, deep and sophisticated, with a gentle, beautiful story to tell – and we see ourselves as the messengers who are bringing the world this story and sound.”

This compilation is the first release of the Muzikawi’s Archive & Research project, which seeks to re-record and re-issue some of Ethiopia’s most celebrated music that never made it outside the country, in the process bringing recognition to musicians whose music never made it to the international market.