1LP Vinyl

Following his striking singles ‘Good Thing’ (ft. Natalie Slade) and ‘Long Slow’ (ft. Olivier St. Louis), Australian producer Plutonic Lab readies his EP ‘The New Ruins’ presenting his solid take on modern soul, establishing himself as a musical force to be reckoned with. Having gained support from the likes of Earmilk, SoulBounce, Huey Morgan (BBC 6 Music) Jyoty (Rinse FM) with his previous work, this is a highly anticipated project accommodating an impressive set of collaborations to be released on the 11th of June 2021 via Low Key Source.

‘The New Ruins’ unveils a vivid sensory experience for listeners, commencing proceedings with the Sci-Fi-esque sonic palette of ‘Long Slow’. Accompanied by a dark bassline, Olivier St. Louis brings the track to life with an alluring contrast of theatrics and soul. The call and response backing vocals provide the track with riveting harmonic and lyrical layers. ‘Enemy’ follows with a seamless transition; fuzzy synths lock into endearing live drum sequences providing the perfect foundation for Black Milk’s rap verses, which resolve into a memorable sung motif in the choruses.